The Most Fun

IMG_7344

Garlic scapes are probably the most fun harvest of the year. (As soulemama demonstrates, you can wear them as you work). They are certainly a bonus to growing garlic. Does anyone else find that they creep up on you? One day, I wonder – where are the scapes already? And the next thing I know, the curls are practically dancing off the plants.

Last year I simply used them in my cooking to accompany garlic. This year I was a bit more ambitious. I put up six or so jars of garlic scape pesto and made two jars of very fun pickled garlic scapes – all from forty-four garlic plants.

IMG_7632

IMG_7835

 

Note: I have been told that it isn’t obvious how to comment on my posts. I want for this blog to become a forum for readers, and since I am limited by this free but lovely template for now, I will leave a note at the end of each post with some instruction on how to comment.

I would love to hear from you and promise to respond to all questions, comments or requests. Please click on the orange circle to the right below to leave a comment and your contact info. Thanks! 

 

3 thoughts on “The Most Fun

  1. The link is in the post – just click on the word pickled. I would love to include my recipes on the blog, but time doesn’t allow it quite yet, so linking out will do for now. thanks, Leah!

  2. Ah, my 120 garlic scrapes and your blog sent me to Pinterest to discover how best to capture this garden treasure. BTW. Pinterest has a tasty looking cauliflower and scape soup. Thanks for the inspiration

Leave a Reply

